State Assembly Elections in Tamilnadu

04 May 2021 Current Affairs:On May 2, 2021, the recent state assembly elections in Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal were counted. The following result is the result of counting.

♦ Assam: Despite the protests against the Citizenship Amendment Act, the DPP defeated the parliamentary election. Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal won from the Majuli Constitution. The star contender of BJP, the Minister of Finance and Health of Assam, won from Jalukbari. Anti-CAA activist Akhil Gogoi won from Sibsagar.
BJP won 60 seats, Congress won 29 seats, AIUDF won 16 seats, AGP won 9 seats, and BPF won 4 seats. The other parties won eight seats. BPF is the Bodoland People’s Front. The alliance led by the BJP in the state is called “Mitrajot” (Friends Alliance), while the alliance led by Congress is called “Mahajot” (Grand Alliance).
Mitrajot is composed of BJP, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), United People’s Party Liberal Party (UPPL) and Gana Suraksha Party (GSP). Mahajot is composed of Congress, Muslim-backed AIUDF (All India United Democratic Front), BTC (Bodoland Territory Committee), and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF).
♦ Tamil Nadu: This is the first election in the state without the main leaders J Jayalalitha and M Karunanidhi. DMK (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam) and its allies are in a leading position. The Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu has 234 seats. DMK won 125 and 66 in AIADMK, 18 in Congress, 4 in BJP, 5 in PMK (Patali Makkal Katchi), 4 in MDMK and VCK, and 4 in CPI and CPK. 2. The DMK-Congress Alliance is likely to form a government under Stalin’s leadership (son of the late CM Karunanidhi).
♦ West Bengal: The state has 294 seats in its legislative assembly. Of these 294 seats, the Trinamool Congress-led by Mamta Banerjee won about 212 seats. BJP has won only 77 seats.
♦ Kerala: The Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan led Left Democratic Front (LDF) won 99 seats. The Chief Minister is likely to form the Government in the state for the consecutive second time. CPI (M) has won 62 seats, and Congress won 21 seats, 17 by CPI, IUML won 15 seats. BJP failed to open an account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.