PM Swasthya Suraksha Yojana – AIIMS

21 May 2021 Current Affairs:Under the Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY), the central government has approved the establishment of 22 new All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), six of which are already operational.

About PMSSY:
♦ PMSSY was launched in 2003 with the aim of addressing regional disparities in the availability of affordable/reliable tertiary healthcare services as well as improving medical education facilities in the country.
♦ The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare is in charge of implementing the PMSSY.
♦ It consists of two components:
1. Establishing a new AIIMS (All India Institute of Medical Sciences).
2. Upgrade of Government medical colleges in each state
♦ The Centre and the state split the project cost of upgrading each medical college institution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.