Nilmani Phookan Jr and Damodar Mauzo wins Jnanpith Award

Please Subscribe and Get Daily Updates in Your Inbox!!!

Please Subscribe and Get Daily Update in Your Inbox

Assamese poet Nilmani Phookan Jr won the 56th Jnanpith Award and Konkani novelist Damodar Mauzo won the 57th Jnanpith Award. 


Phookan is a Padma Shri and Sahitya Akademi awardee.
He is a well-known poet from Guwahati who has penned Surya Henu Nami Ahe Ei Nodiyedi, Gulapi Jamur Lagna, and Kobita. 
In 1990, Phookan was given the Padma Shri, and in 2002, he was awarded the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship. 
Phookan is the third Assamese author to win the Jnanpith award. 
Birendra Kumar Bhattacharya received the award in 1979, and Mamoni Raisom Goswami received it in 2000.
Mauzo is based in Majorda, Goa, and has won the Sahitya Akademi Award. He is most known for his books Karmelin and Tsunami Simon and his short tales Teresa’s Man and Other Goa Stories. 
This is the second Jnanpith Award for a Konkani writer, with Ravindra Kelekar receiving the first in 2006.

Jnanpith Award

The Jnanpith, the country’s highest literary prize, is given to writers for “great contributions to literature.”
 The Bharatiya Jnanpith organization bestows the Jnanpith Award on a writer from India every year. 
This award, established in 1961, is only granted to Indian writers who write in both Indian languages and English.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.