Nikhil Srivastava For AMSs Ciprian Foias Award

Please Subscribe and Get Daily Updates in Your Inbox!!!

Please Subscribe and Get Daily Update in Your Inbox

Mathematician Nikhil Srivastava was selected for the inaugural AMS’s Ciprian Foias Award.


Indian-American mathematician Nikhil Srivastava, an associate professor of mathematics at UC Berkeley, and Adam Marcus and Daniel Spielman, was bestowed the First Ciprian Foias Prize.
They were awarded in Operator Theory by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). 
Adam Marcus carries the Chair of Combinatorial Analysis at the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland. 
Daniel Spielman is a Sterling Professor of Computer Science, a professor of statistics and data science, and a professor of mathematics.
The $5,000 award has been presented to Nikhil Srivastava to promote and propose techniques to know the appropriate polynomial of matrices, including iterative sparsification. 
Nikhil Srivastava had collectively won the George Polya Prize in 2014 and the Held prize in 2021.

Ciprian Foias Award.

The award acknowledges their highly original work that started and improved methods for learning the characteristic polynomial of matrices, particularly the iterative sparsification method (also in collaboration with Batson) and interlacing polynomials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.