Committee Revisit Criteria Determining EWS

Please Subscribe and Get Daily Updates in Your Inbox!!!

Please Subscribe and Get Daily Update in Your Inbox

A committee has been appointed by the Centre to review the criteria for identifying EWS.


Following the explanation requirements to Article 15 of the Constitution, the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment has constituted a three-member committee to evaluate the grounds for reservation for the Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) category.
The committee has been given three weeks to conclude its task. 
Former Finance Secretary Ajay Bhushan Pandey will lead the committee. Following the Supreme Court’s involvement, the government announced the formation of a commission to review the EWS reservation criteria.
The Supreme Court is now considering petitions contesting the government’s July announcement of a 10% EWS quota in NEET admissions.

Members Of The Committee:

Ajay Bhushan Pandey – former finance secretary, GOI (Chairman)
Prof. V K Malhotra – Member secretary of Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR)
Shri Sanjay Sanyal – Principal economic advisor to GOI (Member Convenor)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *